Middle School Religion

The purpose of Catholic school is to assist parents in the religious, spiritual, and moral development of their children. Children with this foundation are encouraged to grown into adults who demonstrate love for all people, respect and appreciate diversity, protect our planet, and who will pass on these values to future generations.

Sixth grade religion curriculum includes:

  • Old Testament
  • Catholic Social Teaching
  • Liturgy Planning and Liturgical Year
  • Theology of the Body (sexual morality & decision making)
  • Virtus (child safety)
  • Gospel Weeklies (Scripture/Liturgy/Christian Life)

Sixth grade religion overviews the Old Testament and how it relates to the New Testament. Students will learn about Abraham, Jacob, Moses, King David, the prophets, Ruth and Naomi, and other key figures.

Sixth grade religion oftens connects with sixth grade social studies. For example, a chapter in social studies is about the ancient Israelites.

In the spring, students also participate (with parental notification and approval) in Called to Protect protocol and Family Life curriculum (using the “Theology of the Body” program).

Finally, sixth graders (with guidance) plan and lead four school liturgies over the course of the school year. Students are invited to read, be song leaders, and participate in other special ministries.

Seventh grade curriculum includes:

  • Life and Teachings of Jesus
  • Catholic Social Teaching
  • Theology of the Body (sexual morality & decision making)
  • Virtus (child safety)
  • Gospel Weeklies (Scripture/Liturgy/Christian Life)
  • Liturgy planning

Seventh grade religion focuses on the life and teachings of Jesus Christ. Through a study of the Gospels, the Sacraments, the liturgy, and the application of Christian values and actions in the world (Catholic Social Teaching), students will learn what it means to live and act as Jesus taught. Students will also study the lives of selected saints.

In the spring, students focus on Christian morality as it relates to their changes as adolescents and the challenges of respecting their own and other’s bodies.

Finally, students will investigate the meaning of the Paschal Mystery as it pertains to the life of Christ and their walk with him in their own lives.

Seventh grade students also plan and lead two to three school liturgies and one Stations of the Cross prayer service over the course of the school year.

Eighth grade religion curriculum includes:

  • Church History
  • Catholic Social Teaching
  • Theology of the Body (Sexual Morality and Decision Making)
  • Second Step (Communication, Anti-bullying, Decision, Goal Setting)
  • Gospel Weeklies (Scripture/ Liturgy/Christian Life)
  • Liturgy Planning

Eighth graders will study themes in the history of the Catholic Church from the time of the apostles through Vatican II.

All eighth grade students are required to complete at least ten hours of service outside of school time. In addition to the actual service, students keep a journal. respond to reflection questions, and read and reflect on scripture related to their service.

Eighth graders focus on Catholic Social Teaching through our weekly Gospel magazine (Visions).

Near the end of the year, eighth graders review and expand their study of Catholic teachings on sexual morality and decision making. During this unit, students also participate in the “Flour Baby” experiment.

The eighth grade class leads at least three school liturgies over the course of the school year.